Somewhere at a lake in Wisconsin…..aaahhhhh

We came back home early last week after 2 weeks on the beautiful Spencer Lake! After a very busy summer in the studio it was high time! Sweet little cabin on an amazing lake in Waupaca County. As my bead enthusiast peeps will understand…..I packed beads and swim suits! Little tiny beads…..my goal – Bead Crochet. It had been a number of years since I have taken the time to bead crochet and I was pleased to find many great youtube videos and written tutorials to refresh my memory. I love bead crochet because it is such a portable project once you have the beads loaded up. Most bead projects involve beads flying all over the place…..these are contained.

IMG_0071

DSC_0589

The two designs made into bracelets (done later….after returning to my studio where I had all the fun little components mostly from Tierracast) I call my patchwork samplers. In a rather random manner I threaded beads of assorted size, shape and color. The finished product is an asymmetrical style…..using a Glass by Tammy Rae Handmade Glass Bead of course. 🙂

IMG_0074

The unfinished bracelet with the orange beads is for Mom, Ruth Brown. Ruth is Rick’s Mom and a great lady. She and Lyle visited with us at the little cottage and she picked these beads for a bracelet…..I think she choose very well….the bracelet is beautiful. Here is a link for this pattern…..a nice one! (note…..don’t watch TV while loading this one :D) Mom’s birthday is coming up soon so I will finish this up while working my show this weekend (see Wausau Art Festival Blog)

https://www.etsy.com/listing/181588446/tutorial-bead-crochet-bracelet-bangle?ref=shop_home_active_7

Another link with great bead crochet designs….these are mostly smaller beads tho – 11/0. So far, I prefer working with size 8’s and 6’s. Easy!

https://www.etsy.com/shop/WearableArtEmporium

So with Labor Day in the past, the calendar says September I am being dragged kicking and screaming into fall. I admit that I love the weather….I just struggle with what follows. I am more of a 4th of July girl than Christmas…..winter, well…..eeeeuuuuu.

On the bright side….September is often the most beautiful month of the year. The sun and lake water are warm….hopefully we can make it back out there once more before the chilly weather overtakes us. I LOVE Wisconsin Summers!

DSC_0500 2<a

Beautiful photo taken by Rick……

About glassbytammyrae

After years of dabbling in various art mediums, I discovered borosilicate glass and never looked back. Over time, my glass style has remained fairly simple to emphasize the amazing and often unanticipated range of colors and patterns. There are times when I look into boro glass and a little fantasy world appears -- so very unusual and spectacular. About 10 years ago my hobby turned in a full time career - I have two galleries in central Wisconsin. A Touch of Glass - Town is located in downtown Waupaca and is open seasonally - summers and for the Christmas holiday. A Touch of Glass - Country in rural Amherst is my main location where I do all my creating, teach classes and melt as much glass as time will allow! Glass by Tammy Rae, my original branding is alive and well in these two historic buildings. Please check www.tammyrae.com for gallery hours as well as my current creations and class offerings.
This entry was posted in Borosilicate lampwork glass and jewelry design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment