How and why did you start glass blowing?

The phrase “if I had a nickel…” certainly applies to this question for me. Since glass blowing IS a unique way to spend your day it makes sense that folks who wander into my studio often ask!

Madison Art Glass & Bead Show “Show Bead” 2019

Honestly? I had fallen in LOVE with beads made from Borosilicate glass and 20 years ago they were super expensive! They still aren’t cheap but back then when they were new, artists would post a set of 5-7 beads on Ebay and the bids would often go well over $100 and much higher.

My chainlink Glass HOLLY necklace

So quite a number of years ago I signed up for a glass bead making class at the now defunct Bead and Button Show in Milwaukee (sob! more about that in a future blog) with Doug Remschneider – was SO hooked. Went home from the 2 day class with a torch, kiln and $100’s of $$$ in glass rods which I promptly turned into very organic looking blobs and ugly bits. Because of the need for ventilation that I didn’t have, I worked outside on my front porch into early winter…space heater aimed at my feet (Wisconsin gets COLD). Closing in on 20 years later I can still turn glass into blobs and ugly bits…but thankfully all that practice has helped.

Hollow Blown Glass Statement Earrings!

It was a great thrill for me many years after taking that first class for me to become an instructor at the show where I learned. I can’t express how much pleasure it gave me to teach my students the craft that I love so very much.

Bead and Button Show – Milwaukee

About glassbytammyrae

After years of dabbling in various art mediums, I discovered borosilicate glass and never looked back. Over time, my glass style has remained fairly simple to emphasize the amazing and often unanticipated range of colors and patterns. There are times when I look into boro glass and a little fantasy world appears -- so very unusual and spectacular. About 10 years ago my hobby turned in a full time career - I have two galleries in central Wisconsin. A Touch of Glass - Town is located in downtown Waupaca and is open seasonally - summers and for the Christmas holiday. A Touch of Glass - Country in rural Amherst is my main location where I do all my creating, teach classes and melt as much glass as time will allow! Glass by Tammy Rae, my original branding is alive and well in these two historic buildings. Please check www.tammyrae.com for gallery hours as well as my current creations and class offerings.
This entry was posted in Borosilicate lampwork glass and jewelry design. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to How and why did you start glass blowing?

  1. Ruth Brown says:

    You are so talented – I think you learned glass blowing from the masters in Venice? Have a restful day – M

Leave a comment